Create and Edit Collaborative Custom Catalogues

Collaborative custom catalogues can be viewed and edited by users in the same CataList account. This page includes instructions on how to manage these catalogues and frequently asked questions.

Learn more about creating and editing custom catalogues.

Learn more about user permissions for private and collaborative custom catalogues.

Creating and editing a collaborative custom catalogue

The process of creating and editing a collaborative custom catalogue follows the same steps you take to create or edit a private custom catalogue. Learn more about creating and editing custom catalogues.

Click any image to view it at full size.

To create a new collaborative custom catalogue

Follow your preferred method of creating a custom catalogue and set the editorial permission to Collaborative.

Once you have created your collaborative custom catalogue, all users in your CataList account will have access to view and edit it. Basic users and Catalogue Editors will have the ability to do everything the creator can do, except change the catalogue back to a private one.

Editorial permissions

  • The editorial permissions for collaborative custom catalogues apply only to users in your CataList account.

  • Account Managers can view and edit all private and collaborative custom catalogues in their account.

  • There are no changes to the permissions for recipients; recipients who aren’t in your CataList account will not have access to edit your custom catalogues.

Learn more about user permissions for viewing and editing custom catalogues.

Reverting a collaborative custom catalogue

As the catalogue creator, you can change your collaborative custom catalogue back to private at any time. However, if your colleague is making edits to your catalogue at the same time you are changing it back to a private custom catalogue, their changes could be lost. Make sure all edits have been saved first before changing the catalogue’s status back to private.

To change the editorial permissions of an existing custom catalogue

  1. Click the pencil icon in the catalogue’s toolbar or in the Actions column on My Page.

  2. In the Edit Info tab, set the editorial permission to either Private or Collaborative.

  3. Click Save.

Only the catalogue creator and Account Managers can change a custom catalogue’s editorial permissions.

Identifying collaborative custom catalogues

After you or another user in your account have created a collaborative custom catalogue, the catalogue will display alongside your private custom catalogues when you view your My Page or add titles to a catalogue using the Add-to-catalogue button.

Add-to-catalogue

When you click the Add-to-catalogue button, the dropdown menu displays an icon next to collaborative custom catalogues. Hover over the icon to see who created the catalogue.

My Page

The custom catalogue table on My Page includes filters that help you separate your private custom catalogues from collaborative ones.

Collaborative custom catalogues are identified by the icon next to the catalogue’s name.

Collaborative custom catalogue

An icon next to the catalogue’s name indicates that it is a collaborative custom catalogue. Hover over the icon to see who created the catalogue.

Collaborative custom catalogue FAQs

Here are some questions we’ve received about collaborative custom catalogues.

If I am a publisher or sales rep, can I make my custom catalogues collaborative so that my customers can add titles to them?
No. Only logged-in users in your organization’s CataList account can be collaborators for your custom catalogues.

If the catalogue creator changes the collaborative custom catalogue back to a private custom catalogue, will we lose any changes that other users have made?
No. All changes made while the catalogue is in a collaborative state will be maintained when the creator changes a catalogue back to private. However, if your colleague is making edits to your catalogue at the same time you are changing it back to a private custom catalogue, their changes could be lost. Make sure all edits have been saved first before changing the catalogue’s status back to private.

Are notes that I saved to a title affected by the catalogue’s collaborative/private state?
No. Notes are always tied to users and ISBNs — there is no reference to the catalogue in any of the notes functionality, so any notes entered on titles in catalogues are not affected by the catalogue’s collaborative or private state.

Will notes that I saved to a title in a collaborative catalogue automatically be shared with my collaborators?
No. Notes being entered are still private to the person entering the note and the note recipients. However, if for example, you want to enter notes that will be available to both catalogue recipients and your collaborators, you can add specific collaborators as recipients and then select the "suggest recipients on shared notes" option. Once notes are entered, you can optionally take the collaborators off the recipient list.

What editing permissions will my colleagues have if they are also listed as that catalogue’s recipients?
If a person is both a collaborator on a catalogue AND a recipient, the collaborator permissions will override recipient permissions (which are read-only) to ensure no loss of functionality. Learn more about user permissions for private and collaborative custom catalogues.