Collaborative custom catalogues can be viewed and edited by users in the same CataList account. This page includes instructions on how to manage these catalogues and frequently asked questions.
|Table of Contents|
Creating and editing a collaborative custom catalogue
The process of creating and editing a collaborative custom catalogue follows the same steps you take to create or edit a private custom catalogue. Learn more about creating and editing custom catalogues.
Click any image to view it at full size.
Reverting a collaborative custom catalogue
As the catalogue creator, you can change your collaborative custom catalogue back to private at any time. However, if your colleague is making edits to your catalogue at the same time you are changing it back to a private custom catalogue, their changes could be lost. Make sure all edits have been saved first before changing the catalogue’s status back to private.
Identifying collaborative custom catalogues
After you or another user in your account have created a collaborative custom catalogue, the catalogue it will display alongside your private custom catalogues when you view your My Page or add titles to a catalogue using the Add-to-catalogue button.
use the “Add to catalogue” tool.
Collaborative custom catalogue FAQs
Here are some questions we’ve received about collaborative custom catalogues.
If I am a publisher or sales rep, can I make my custom catalogues collaborative so that my customers can add titles to them?
No. Only logged-in users in your organization’s CataList account can be collaborators for your custom catalogues.
If the catalogue creator changes the collaborative custom catalogue back to a private custom catalogue, will we lose any changes that other users have made?
No. All changes made while the catalogue is in a collaborative state will be maintained when the creator changes a catalogue back to private. However, if your colleague is making edits to your catalogue at the same time you are changing it back to a private custom catalogue, their changes could be lost. Make sure all edits have been saved first before changing the catalogue’s status back to private.
Are notes that I saved to a title affected by the catalogue’s collaborative/private state?
No. Notes are always tied to users and ISBNs — there is no reference to the catalogue in any of the notes functionality, so any notes entered on titles in catalogues are not affected by the catalogue’s collaborative or private state.
Will notes that I saved to a title in a collaborative catalogue automatically be shared with my collaborators?
No. Notes being entered are still private to the person entering the note and the note recipients. However, if for example, you want to enter notes that will be available to both catalogue recipients and your collaborators, you can add specific collaborators as recipients and then select the "suggest recipients on shared notes" option. Once notes are entered, you can optionally take the collaborators off the recipient list.
What editing permissions will my colleagues have if they are also listed as that catalogue’s recipients?
If a person is both a collaborator on a catalogue AND a recipient, the collaborator permissions will override recipient permissions (which are read-only) to ensure no loss of functionality. Learn more about user permissions for private and collaborative custom catalogues.